A Good Way to Pray Pt. 4

“Give us today our daily bread.” (Matthew 6:11)

Do you know the key to every relationship? . . .

Honesty, you say? Well, I think you’re getting at it. Trust. That’s my humble opinion anyway. Look at the beginning of The Great Story and how everything went awry. God’s humans stepped outside of trust and did the very thing He told them not to because His trust was called into question by a snake in the grass. When they broke trust with God, they found they had broken trust with one another. Shame came into the picture, fear crept in, and the rest, unfortunately, is history. Our history. So what did God start doing that very day? Rebuilding trust. The ultimate expression of this grand project is Jesus Christ. You want to see the Father, know His heart, and become convinced He’s trustworthy? Look at Jesus.

What strikes me about this line of His prayer is that the very act of verbalizing it is an act of trust. If I ask you to give me something, it’s because I am trusting that you might actually give me what I’m asking for. If not, I’m wasting my breath. Why would I ask? Jesus is not just suggesting we ask God for stuff. I think He is suggesting that we trust the Father as our source of provision for all we need. Every line of this prayer points to part of its purpose – to orient our soul. Who meets my most basic needs? Do I myself? No, Father does.

Jesus will say later in this very chapter, “Seek first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you” (things like food and clothing). On one hand, we are to be “poor in spirit,” recognizing our utter need for God. On the other hand, we are to learn that in God we find all we need, and therefore we lack nothing. “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want” (Psalm 23:1). In praying this line of The Lord’s Prayer, we rebuild trust in the One who promised in the first place to give and sustain life.

Trust me. It’s a good way to pray.

father-son-trust

Leave a Reply

