Dalai Lama, William Wallace, and Jesus

So today I came across an article on Facebook that only secondarily contained a quote by the Dalai Lama. The rest of the article was immediately lost on me. The quote was captured in this image:

IMG_0342.JPG

(Isn’t that last line reminiscent of a line from William Wallace in Braveheart?)

Wow. What a sucker punch. This calls to my mind what Jesus said in John 10…

7 So Jesus said to them again, “Truly, truly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep. 8 All who came before Me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not hear them. 9 I am the door; if anyone enters through Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture. 10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.

Interestingly enough this passage is in the context of Jesus claiming to be the “Good Shepherd.” The way the Dalai Lama talks about sacrificing health to make money and being anxious for the future such that our present is wasted are both about “being in want,” something addressed in Psalm 23, aka “The Shepherd’s Psalm.” Jesus, the Good Shepherd, says in the face of those thieves and robbers (money, anxiety, etc.), I have come to give you life…in the present…abundant life. Thus, we can say, “The Lord is my shepherd. I shall not be in want.”

I hope today you might worry less, live more in the present, and be assured that you are just a sheep. It really takes some pressure off. Especially when we realize there is a Shepherd taking care of what we are so prone to tend to ourselves, even if the effort might kill us. He came that we might live. And live well.

Leave a Reply

