A prayer by Ralph S. Cushman

I do not ask
That crowds my throng the temple;
That standing room be priced;
I only ask that as I voice the message,
They may see Christ.
I do not ask
For church by pomp or pageant,
Or music such as wealth alone can buy;
I only ask that as I voice the message,
He may be nigh!
I do not ask
That men may sound my praises,
Or headlines spread my name abroad;
I only pray that as I voice the message
Hearts may find God!
I do not ask
For earthly place or laurel,
Or of this world’s distinctions any part;
I only ask when I have voiced the message,
My Savior’s Heart!

~ A prayer by Ralph S. Cushman

Leave a Reply

