Bedtime Prayer

In today’s sermon we looked at how Jesus’ final words from the cross in Luke taken from Psalm 31 are thought to be a bedtime prayer Jewish mothers would teach their children – “Father, into your hands I entrust my spirit.” I want to offer a modified expanded version of a contemporary equivalent we say with Noah each night before bed.

Now I lay me
Down to sleep
I pray the Lord
My soul to keep

If I should die
Before I wake
I pray the Lord
My soul to take

But if I should live
Another day
I pray the Lord
To guide my way

Thank you Jesus
Savior Friend
And now at last
We say, Amen.

His mother added a simple melody so we could sing it. I consider it a masterpiece.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

