Forgiving and Forgetting

Hebrews 10:15-18:
“And the Holy Spirit also testifies to us; for after saying,
 ‘This is the covenant that I will make with them
after those days, says the Lord:
I will put my laws upon their heart,
and on their mind I will write them,’ (Jeremiah 31:33)
   He then says,
 ‘And their sins and their lawless deeds
I will remember no more.’ (Jer. 31:34)
 Now where there is forgiveness of these things, there is no longer any offering for sin.”

Too many times we contrast forgiving and forgetting, do we not, as if God exhorts us to forgive while not expecting us to forget. I find it blessedly intriguing that His own model of forgiveness is not such.
Leave a Reply

